Sunday Morning Musings: The Parent “Oscars”

Academy Award

Academy Award (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This Sunday brings us the Oscars. The film industry’s most prestigious award ceremony aims to recognize and entertain simultaneously. I myself am not an Oscar watcher. Never really been my thing. However, the celebration did give me an idea. Why not have an award ceremony for us parents?

I don’t mean to take away anything from the actors, producers, movie crews, etc. that create the “magic” on the movie screens. But every day people are living the daily drama of parenting. There is no script. Sometimes, there are no happy endings, just endings that are the best option. For most, there is no crew to assist. And of course, there isn’t millions of millions of dollars pouring in either. Although, I’m sure many of us would like to sell tickets to our parenting adventures.

So to start the ceremony, I would like to award a Parent “Oscar” to…..my wife. Little A’s mom. I won’t lie, she swept this year’s awards.

Her day’s are filled with poopy diapers, crankiness, baby laughter, bottles, milk, mashed up fruits and vegetables no adult would eat, nap time, and the occasional sitting on the little guy’s plastic toys.

The action is intense, with periods of silent intrigue. I give this award in several categories. Best Drama, Best Comedy, Best Set Design, Best Costume, and most of all Best Picture and Best Actress, (even if she doesn’t know what she’s doing, you can never tell).

On a side note, the Best Supporting Actor award goes to Little A. He plays the part of an innocent, playful, happy, cranky, eating, sleepy, challenging, give-me-what-I-want-when-I-want-it, baby better than anyone else in the industry.

Let me know who you would like to give a Parent “Oscar” to.

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Musings: The Parent “Oscars”

Leave a Reply

