Sunday Morning Musings: Cartoons

Elmer Fudd

Elmer Fudd (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Growing up I watched cartoons, especially on the weekends. I would suspect, the vast majority of us growing up in the U.S. did the same. Looney Tunes was certainly my favorite. Thanks to Bugs and gang I do a mean Elmer Fudd, or so I’ve been told.

This morning, as I sit on my couch holding Little A I think back to my past. I mean no offense to Boom or Cartoon Network, but cartoons today just aren’t the same. Fortunately we get PBS Kids. Curious George is my favorite and it captures the attention of the little guy. Not to mention its educational.

I’m still up in the air about the Cat In The Hat Knows A Lot About That, but one thing new parents learn is you go with what works. Little A likes it, so daddy likes it.

Growing up I wanted to be a paleontologist. Need I say anymore about Dinosaur Train? Yes, it’s a stretch to believe a pterodactyl would keep a tyrannosaurus rex as a child of her own, but work with me on this one. As far as I’m concerned, dinosaurs and kids works every time.

I am glad today’s cartoons aim for the educational. I’m not sure what I learned from Looney Tunes other than when running out into open air off a cliff don’t look down. Nothing happened to Bugs, Daffy, or a certain Wile E. Coyote until they looked down. Did anyone else notice this?

Regardless of my thoughts on cartoons these days I’m glad for one thing, the time spent with Little A. I suspect as he gets older and becomes more aware cartoon watching will become more entertaining for me. However, nothing replaces a good book.

Am I’m missing any cartoons either from today or the past that are worth mentioning?

 

6 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Musings: Cartoons

  1. Agreed. I was more of a GI Joe, Thundercats, and He-Man kinda kid, but aside from the “Knowing is Half the Battle” component, there wasn’t a single educational aspect (in fact, I probably absorbed a lot of mis-information). But looking back on it, I can’t remember a time when my parents actually sat to watch with me. I watched them in my own bubble.

    Regardless of the content, I think the most important thing is the time you spend together watching, and reciting all those theme songs together. Great post.

    And, yes, I LOVED Dinosaur Train when my son was into it a couple years back (still know and love the Dino ABC song)!

    • Thundercats ruled. Skeletor and He-Man battled constantly in my house. For one Christmas, my parents got me the GI Joe space shuttle. It contained one large shuttle with docking bay and all. Then it had a smaller shuttle that mounted on top. All of which sat in a carrier that had wheels. The nose of the big shuttle stuck out the front. The “cover” opened so you could take them out and play. The thing was huge but awesome.

      So aside from being able to shoot lasers and understand giant cats that spoke, I learned nothing.

      Thanks for the good words and you brought back a lot of memories.

      Thanks for reading!

      Vince V.

  2. Gummy Bears “bouncing here and there and everywhere, having adventures beyond compare…” another excellent cartoon to go with those already mentioned. We’ve also downloaded a bunch of Curious George episodes for K as there are really good and he has come away clearly having learned a thing or two. I can’t say I learned too much from my cartoon watching, beyond sword play.

    • That sword play will come in handy if you ever find yourself surrounded by Samurai or an over zealous Darth Vader impersonator.

      I have to agree, my skills summoning the power of Thundercats and fending off Cobra isn’t doing much for my aspiring writing career.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

